Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RYTHEM

Posted by Romios 
Romios
RYTHEM
November 12, 2005 02:33PM
Hello everyone.

Im a begining guitarist, I know quite a few songs and my fingering is getting pretty good, Ive been playing for about a year. My problem is sticking to the rythem, I cant seem to do it. I always go offbeat even when I play against a drum machine or metronome.

I just cant listen for the rythem and play the melody aswell, I realy need advice on how to do it. I can strum chords to the rythem with ease, but when it comes to playing the notes of melody I lose the rythem every time.

Please help me out!
Re: RYTHEM
November 15, 2005 11:55PM
Hello!
If you can strum along and stick to the beat, that's a good start. You might just be trying to go too fast... remember, you're trying to pay attention to a lot of different things, all at the same time!

You might have an easier time while you're getting the hang of rhythms if you actually put the guitar aside.

See if you can sing or whistle the melody along with the metronome. Do that until you feel really comfortable with it, and you're right on the beat without wandering off at all. You can tap your foot if it helps, or nod your head. You have to kind of get the feel of the rhythm in your body, so you know instinctively where the beat is without having to pay attention to it.

Then try it on the guitar again -- that should help.

-Rob
Zilliah Jean
November 21, 2005 08:39AM
Hello,
I have been playing for about 5 years and when it comes to sight reading, I can't read music i have so much trouble with it, but after we play it through the first time i can play it nearly perfect. I want to ask my band director for help, nut i don't want him to put me in the freshman band what do you think?
November 21, 2005 05:29PM
Step #1: Slow down and CLAP THE RHYTHYM before you pick up your instrument. Write in the beats as well. It makes a world of difference. THEN you can pick up your instrument and try it.