Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Key Signatures for Modal Pieces

Posted by harryboulton 
Key Signatures for Modal Pieces
November 04, 2015 11:03AM
I have little experience in composing and performing modal pieces so I was wondering if anyone could shed some light:

My question I am asking is what key signature does a modal piece use? Is it the key signature that the mode is based on (e.g. in F Dorian would I use F minor as the key signature) or would it use the key signature which all the notes in the scale fall into? (In the case of F Dorian; Eb major)

F Dorian: F G Ab Bb C D Eb F
In this case, would it make more sense to use the key signature of Eb/Cm rather than Fm/Ab because of the D naturals. Or is it common for every note changed in the scale (raised 6th in the case of dorian) to be notated as an accidental?

Another example if the previous wasn't very clear:

G Mixolydian: G A B C D E F G
All of these notes fall into the key signature of C major. Do I use C/Am as the key signature or G/Em and notate all the flattened 7ths? (Fs in this case)
Re: Key Signatures for Modal Pieces
November 04, 2015 02:51PM
Either.

Personally, I think the "correct" way to do it would be to notate the key signature for the notes in the mode (so the "mode signature"), For example, G Mixolydian would carry a "key" signature of no sharps or flats, and F Dorian would carry a "key" signature of 3 flats.

Obviously, if the piece stays exclusively or primarily in the mode, this would involve the least amount of additional accidentals (and this is how it was done traditionally prior to the Tonal era).