Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie here... Some help please.

Posted by orlaboutorla 
Newbie here... Some help please.
April 08, 2017 02:09AM
Hello everyone!

So I have an issue... Please don't throw rotten tomatoes!

Funnily enough I am a self taught guitarist and have been for a long time and I fumble my way around the piano but I have no real music theory training. I write and produce a bit of electronic music too.

The Issue

A few years back I had produced and written a dance track with a particular theme, it was a repetitive groove and without going into too many details for the sake of boring everyone it was written for a dance piece in an amateur play about a strip club. As it was this quick 4 chords over 1 bar repetition at 126bpm that didn't really need to go anywhere I threw all the rules out (I think) and used, F#m, Fm, D, Db... Go ahead play them, you will see why I used them. Now please excuse my naivety but I cant find anywhere to say these should ever go together. BUT they sounded right for this project.

The thing is, I have since revisited this track and I want to use the vocal in a new 'remixed' track but with a different feel. But since the song or vocals are written around those chords I am struggling or doubting my ears... I found some chords that sound good, and the feel is right but I cant see how they work 'in theory'. Are my ears just really bad? Or can these work because the original chords F#m, Fm, D, Db are kind of a hybrid key???

So I found that I could use these chords: (Bar) 1:F#m 2: F#m: 3: F#m 4: F#m/Edim/Am

Now I know that is probably like nails on a chalkboard to all you real musicians and that in the key of F#m that Am should be a A. Can someone help? Are there any others I could use that fit the original vocal bearing in mind it was some junkie chord progression albeit very short!

My other problem is the bass line... Of course some notes in the key work and some dont is there a solution? Hybrid bassline?