Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Making the tonic chord a Dominant 7?

Posted by armansrsa 
Making the tonic chord a Dominant 7?
May 28, 2017 02:18AM
I am studying Happy by Pharrel Williams which is a nice tune and has some interesting chord progressions to look at:

verse: F7, Bb, C, Bb
chorus: Dbmaj7, Cm7, F7

There are a couple of things I have questions about and I wonder if someone might be able to help me understand it please or to at least tell me if i am on the right track with how I see the progression:

1) The tonic chord F is changed to a F7, is this to give it a bluesy sound?
2) I see the bVI chord here in the chorus and was wondering if this comes from the parallel minor (Fm)
3) I also see that he uses a minor iv chord, does this also come from the parallel minor of Fm?
Re: Making the tonic chord a Dominant 7?
May 28, 2017 10:12AM
As far as the chord sequences you wrote, it seems like the Key could be either F Major ir Bb Major; in the last case, the "borrowed" chord would be II= C (C Major instead of c-minor) and F7 would be the V7; also DbMaj7 would be related to dregree III of paralell minor Key (that is, Bb-minor).

You might find useful to read the intro of the book "Structural functions of harmony" by Arnold Schonberg, where he talks about the segments of a given key often being matched to segments of another key, and so on. Greetings.
Viz
May 29, 2017 01:04AM
Hi, the Ib7 chord is indeed changing the tonic to a temporary (or "secondary") dominant, so it can resolve nicely to the the IV chord in a V-I cadence. The flat 6 chord is indeed borrowed from f minor. He doesn't use a minor iv chord, it's a minor v chord (the c minor), which is also from f minor. So the majority of the 2nd theme is in f minor before returning to the "happy" place of F major.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/29/2017 01:20AM by Viz. (view changes)
June 02, 2017 02:38AM