Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Eighth Note Beaming Question

Posted by GuitarGuy570 
Eighth Note Beaming Question
August 14, 2017 10:17AM
Hi all! This is my first time on here and I have a question. I am trying to write out a jazzy lick that a friend of mine found (he doesn't know any theory) and I can't decide which way to best beam the eighth notes. I plan on using this in a song, so I want it to be in 4/4. I realize that putting it in 12/8 would make this a lot easier, but it doesn't fit with the aesthetic I am going for. I can't decide whether to beam the eighth notes like normal and just put accents, or to beam them in the second, strange fashion. I have been playing music for around 10 years and jazz for 6, but I can't remember if I have ever seen eighth notes beamed across a bar line, or if there is a better way to do this. Also, is there a real name for this kind of rhythmic clave? I feel like i have heard it before but I can't put a finger on it. Thanks!

i1149.photobucket.com/albums/o590/GuitarGuy570/Screen%20Shot%202017-08-14%20at%201.09.51%20PM_zpsaugbacqe.png (4 notes per beam)

i1149.photobucket.com/albums/o590/GuitarGuy570/Screen%20Shot%202017-08-14%20at%201.07.49%20PM_zpstmfecfwt.png (3 notes per beam)
Re: Eighth Note Beaming Question
August 19, 2017 04:10AM
I think the aesthetic should be a personal choice, but I have a preference for the diagonal "beaming" thing, both look readable and clear though. Not any clave I've heard, a variation on a son clave 3/2?
Re: Eighth Note Beaming Question
August 21, 2017 05:49PM
Hi GuitarGuy570,

Photobucket no longer allows for third party hosting unless you pay to upgrade. I tried both your links, and did not get your image, but got a message requesting an upgrade instead.

Here is a free site that claims to allow free third party hosting:

h.t.t.p://postimages.org/

"Post your images here. Get permanent links for Facebook, Twitter, message boards and blogs"