Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Keys of the Well-Tempered Clavier

Posted by k 
k
Keys of the Well-Tempered Clavier
May 17, 2018 03:05PM
I'm new to music theory and the keys music is written in, so please bear with me!

When "Happy Birthday" is sung, the person who starts the song picks a key and everybody joins in and follows along, and nobody is any wiser about they key signature. First, is this true, or are they just picking a pitch that may not be A440?

If that is basically true then when Bach wrote the Well Tempered Clavier in each key for both Books... If all his music was transposed to C Major or Minor, would it make a difference? If he shifted every piece by a half tone would his work have been less influential or enjoyable? I've had a hard time trying to Google an answer. Somebody once wrote that the timbre would be different because of the way the piano was designed. That sounds like a plausible reason to pick a specific key for the piano if you are that sensitive, but does that mean if we played a synthesizer with pure sine waves, the key wouldn't make a difference?
ttw
Re: Keys of the Well-Tempered Clavier
May 24, 2018 04:09PM
With respect to WTC, this topic has been debated for some time. The same question was asked by Glenn Gould re Bach's various suites (and if substitution of a middle movement from one, proper transposed, into another of the same type of dance.) Because we do no know for sure what temperament (or even what pitch) Bach used for sure, people debate these questions passionately.
k
Re: Keys of the Well-Tempered Clavier
June 16, 2018 08:00PM