Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Intervals

Posted by Penguin 
Intervals
September 29, 2018 08:09AM
I don't understand interval types (augmented, perfect, major, minor, diminished). I'm a mostly self-taught piano player, with a learning disability that makes vocabulary difficult for me to follow. For example, in math class, when the teacher would say "integer," I'd have a mild panic attack trying to remember if an integer is just a number, or a specific kind of number.

Here's what I think I know:

I know that firsts, fourths, fifths, and eighths are "perfect," but I don't know if there's such a thing as "augmented perfect" or something like that.
It follows that seconds, thirds, sixths, and sevenths are "major," since perfect and major are (to my understanding) synonymous, but used in different contexts.
Augmented intervals are a half-step above perfect or major intervals.
Minor intervals are a half-step below major intervals.
Diminished intervals are a half-step below minor intervals.

Is this correct? Please correct me where I am wrong.
ttw
Re: Intervals
September 29, 2018 06:11PM
The names for intervals are mostly historical. They stem from (and probably contribute to) harmonic analysis from about 600 to 1900.

There are only 7 names for notes in a (normal) scale (major or minor) and for historical (chant, medieval) modes. So there are only 6 types of intervals (7 when counting a unison as an interval). Based on a chromatic scale, there would be 12 types of intervals but that's another system of nomenclature; it's not necessarily better or worse than the usual. In some ways it's simpler but it doesn't correspond to Common Practice Period harmony.