Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile


Major and Minor Pentatonic Intervals

Posted by Cadmandu 
Major and Minor Pentatonic Intervals
January 09, 2019 05:55AM
Why would the 4th and 7th in a major scale be dropped to form a Pentatonic scale.
And the 2nd and 6th be dropped in a minor scale?
Re: Major and Minor Pentatonic Intervals
January 10, 2019 12:03AM
If you recall that A Minor is the relative minor of C Major, you will notice that the missing 4th and 7th of C major penta (the F and the B) are the same notes that are missing from A minor penta, except with A minor, the F and the B are the 2nd and 6th.

Clever eh?

Then when you start learning modes, you will understand there are 3 major modes (lydian, ionion and mixolydian) and that the notes that determine which one it is, are the 4th and the 7th. Lydian has a sharp 4; mixoydian has a flat 7. Similarly there are 3 minor modes (dorian, aeolian and phrygian), and the determining notes to tell you which it is are the 2nd and 6th. Dorian has the sharp 6; phrygian has the flat 2.

So without those identifier notes, you don’t know what mode it is. Hence, the pentatonics are AMODAL scales.

There you go :)
Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.

Click here to login